Contents... Reports of Past Events Congratulations Welcome / Farewell Announcement Colloquia, Seminars Public Outreach Activities Visitors 1 to 9 1 2 3, 4 9 10 to 14 15, 16 KHAG L No. 117 JANUARY 2019 | ISSN 0972-7647 A quarterly bulletin of the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (An autonomous institution of the University Grants Commission) Editor : Aseem Paranjape ( ) Editorial Assistant : Manjiri Mahabal ( ) Follow us on our face book page : Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics Available online at The 30th IUCAA Foundation Day Lecture | KHAG L | No. 117 - JANUARY 2019 | 01 Congratulations to . . . Varun Sahni, on being awarded the J.C. Bose Fellowship , by the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India. SurhudMore, on being awarded the 2019Marshak Lecturership of the AmericanPhysical Society. The 30th Foundation Day Lecture of IUCAA was delivered by Professor Satish R. Shetye on December 29, 2018 in the Chandrasekhar Auditorium. The title was, 'Physics of theMonsoons over India and Surrounding Seas:APrimer'. In his Lecture, Professor Shetye gave a detailed, pedagogical and very informative exposition of the basic physical processes underlying the Indian monsoon. The monsoon is a very complex phenomenon involving the interaction of multiple geophysical and atmospheric effects, and he expertly guided the audience through these complexities in an illuminating and accessible talk. Prof. Shetye is an eminent geophysicist and oceanographer and is an expert on monsoon-driven currents along the Indian coast. An alumnus of the IIT-Bombay, Prof. Shetye completed his Ph.D. in Physical Oceanography from the University of Washington, Seattle, USA in 1982. Thereafter, he returned to India to join the National Institute of Oceanography in Dona Paula, Goa, with which he was associated throughout his career in various capacities, including serving as its Director during 2004-2012. Prof. Shetye holds a number of academic distinctions including being a Fellow of all three major Indian Science Academies and the recipient of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean, and Planetary Sciences awarded by the CSIR in 1992.